Search

Cricket: No need for Super Over in ODIs says Ross Taylor

In a rare case of a tie, Senior New Zealand batsman Ross Taylor would not mind teams sharing the 50-over World Cup trophy since he does not consider it necessary for a Super Over in the One- day format.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) had faced a lot of criticism after England were declared winners in the World Cup final against New Zealand on boundary countback after the tie in regulation period and subsequent Super Over.

As of a result, ICC was forced to make a rule allows repeated Super Overs in the semi finals and finals as long as the winner is declared. On the contrary, Taylor finds it adequate to share the trophy in case of a tie situation.

“In T20, to continually go on is the right way to go. A bit like football or some other games, trying to get that win in, but I don’t think the Super Over is necessarily needed in a one-day game. I think you can have a joint winner.” Taylor said.

Taking into consideration the length of one-day game, Taylor feels tie is a fair result.

“During the World Cup I actually went up to the umpires to say ‘good game’, I didn’t even know there was a Super Over. A tie is a tie, I suppose you could have this argument either way, but in a one-day game I think if you can go 100 overs and still have someone equal at the end I don’t think a tie is a bad thing.”

“One over across 50 overs or 20 overs is tough to swallow, but if we are in that same situation we still back ourselves. First and foremost you have to try and win the game in the allocated time.” Taylor added.


#Cricketnews #ICC #Sportsnews



3 views
 

©2020 by SponsorEazy. All rights reserved